Welcome to Traralgon Football & Netball Club


Traralgon Football & Netball Club

History of the
Traralgon Football Netball Club

Formed in 1883, the Traralgon Football Netball Club has been a pinnacle destination for local football and netball players in the Latrobe Valley and Gippsland region.

The first published match was at home against Warragul, with Traralgon taking the win.

The club went into recess in 1844, returning to competition in 1895.


The Traralgon Football Netball Club aims to provide a well-structured family friendly environment to assist in the physical development and learning experience of all our members in a safe and controlled atmosphere to help them reach their full potential and to enhance their involvement within our club. We will encourage volunteer involvement and promote strong family values, team pride and compete with sportsmanship and honour in everything we do.

TFNC Committee & Coaches


President – Kevin Foley
Vice President – Natalie Jaensch
Secretary – Lorraine Paulet
Treasurer – Jo Reid
Netball Operations Manager – Amelia Evison
Football Operations Manager – Andrew Quenault
Committee – Paul VanIwaarden, Chris Wood, Fiona Morrow, Joy Martin, John Paulet, Amy Harrison, Darren Hallyburton, Russell Sartori,  Craig Watts

Coaching Staff: Football

Seniors: Troy Hamilton
Reserves: Trent Anderson
Thirds (U18s): Danny Campbell
Fourths (U16s): Adam Jaensch
Youth Girls: Andrew Jenkins

Coaching Staff: Netball

A Grade: Amy Harrison
B Grade: Fiona Morrow
C Grade: Sophie Membrey
Under 17’s: Brooke Adams
Under 15’s: Kasey Guttridge
Under 13’s: Sarah Blythman

Higher Honors

Traralgon Football Netball Club

Current Higher Honors: Football

AFL/AFLW Listed Players
Tim Membrey – St Kilda (Previous Sydney Swans)
Darcy Guttridge – St Kilda
Amber Schutte – Collingwood

VFL/VFLW Listed Players
Harvey Neocleous – Casey Demons
Matilda van Berkel – Box Hill Hawks

Gippsland Power Listed Players
Cooper Brown
Josh Hamilton
William Brent

Elaina Domagala
Indi van Berkel
Ella Stoddart
Alex Beaton
Ash Murtagh
Chelsea Sutton
Stevie McClements (U16s)

VFL/AFL Players (played at the club before VFL/AFL debut)
1897 – David Adamson – South Melbourne
1908 – Ernie Abbott – St. Kilda
1923 – Bill Roberts – South Melbourne
1932 – Jack Anderson – Richmond
1933 – Ray Harry – Carlton
1939 – Jack Scott – Richmond
1940 – Kevin Curran – Hawthorn
1941 – Fred Jones – Hawthorn
1947 – Jack Roberts – Richmond
1950 – Keith McKee – Geelong
1955 – Alan Anton – Fitzroy
1955 – Barry Archbold – Carlton
1957 – Bob Turner – Melbourne

Current VNL Players: Netball

Award Winners

Brownlow Medalists (VFL/AFL Best & Fairest)

  • 1980 – Kelvin Templeton – Fitzroy
  • 1981 – Bernie Quinlan – Footscray

Gardiner Medalists (VFL Reserves Best & Fairest)

  • 1984 – Jim Stephenson – Footscray